Not an order of battle and the vast majority, of course never went to the Western Front but here's a full listing of Indian Army units as at 1918.

Governor General's Bodyguard
Governor's Bodyguard, Madras
Governor's Bodyguard, Bombay
Governor's Bodyguard, Bengal
1st Duke of York's Own Lancers (Skinner's Horse)
2nd Lancers (Gardner's Horse)
3rd Skinner's Horse
4th Cavalry
5th Cavalry
6th King Edward's Own Cavalry
7th Hariana Lancers
8th Cavalry
9th Hodson's Horse
10th Duke of Cambridge's Own Lancers (Hodson's Horse)
11th King Edward's Own Lancers (Probyn's Horse)
12th Cavalry
13th Duke of Connaught's Lancers (Watson's Horse)
14th Murray's Jat Lancers
15th Lancers (Cureton's Multanis)
16th Cavalry
17th Cavalry
18th King George's Own Lancers
19th Lancers (Fane's Horse)
20th Deccan Horse
21st Prince Albert Victor's Own Cavalry (Frontier Force)
22nd Sam Browne's Cavalry (Frontier Force)
23rd Cavalry (Frontier Force)
25th Cavalry (Frontier Force)
26th King George's Own Light Cavalry
27th Light Cavalry
28th Light Cavalry
29th Lancers (Deccan Horse)
30th Lancers (Gordon's Horse)
31st Duke of Connaught's Own Lancers
32nd Lancers
33rd The Queen Victoria's Own Light Cavalry
34th Prince Albert Victor's Own Poona Horse
35th Scinde Horse
36th Jacob's Horse
37th Lancers (Baluch Horse)
38th King George's Own Central India Horse
39th King George's Own Central India Horse
40th Cavalry
41st Cavalry
42nd Cavalry
43rd Cavalry
44th Cavalry
45th Cavalry
46th Cavalry
Queen Victoria's Own Corps of Guides (Frontier Force)
(Lumsden's) Cavalry
1st Brahmans
2nd Queen Victoria's Own Rajput Light Infantry
3rd Brahmans
4th Prince Albert Victor's Rajputs
5th Light Infantry
6th Jat Light Infantry
7th Duke of Connaught's Own Rajputs
8th Rajputs
9th Bhopal Infantry
10th Jats
11th Rajputs
12th Pioneers (Khelat-i-Gilzie Regiment)
13th Rajputs (The Shekhawati Regt)
14th King George's Own Ferozepore Sikhs
15th Ludhiana Sikhs
16th Rajputs (The Lucknow Regiment)
17th The Loyal Regiment
18th Infantry
19th Punjabis
20th Duke of Cambridge's Own Punjab Infantry
21st Punjabis
22nd Punjabis
23rd Sikh Pioneers
24th Punjabis
25th Punjabis
26th Punjabis
27th Punjabis
28th Punjabis
29th Punjabis
30th Punjabis
31st Punjabis
32nd Sikh Pioneers
33rd Punjabis
34th Sikh Pioneers
35th Sikhs
36th Sikhs
37th Dogras
38th Dogras
39th Garhwal Rifles
40th Pathans
41st Dogras
42nd Deoli Regiment
43rd Erinpura Regiment
44th Mharwara Regiment
45th Rattray's Sikhs
46th Punjabis
47th Sikhs
48th Pioneers
49th Bengalis
50th Kumaon Rifles
51st Sikhs (Frontier Force)
52nd Sikhs (Frontier Force)
53rd Sikhs (Frontier Force)
54th Sikhs (Frontier Force)
Queen Victoria's Own Corps of Guides (Frontier Force)
(Lumsden's) Infantry
55th Coke's Rifles (Frontier Force)
56th Punjabi Rifles (Frontier Force)
57th Wilde's Rifles (Frontier Force)
58th Vaughan's Rifles (Frontier Force)
59th Scinde Rifles (Frontier Force)
61st King George's Own Pioneers
62nd Punjabis
63rd Palamcottah Light Infantry
64th Pioneers
66th Punjabis
67th Punjabis
69th Punjabis
70th Burma Rifles
71st Punjabis (Punjab Christian Battalion)
72nd Punjabis
73rd Carnatic Infantry
74th Punjabis
75th Carnatic Infantry
76th Punjabis
79th Carnatic Infantry
80th Carnatic Infantry
81st Pioneers
82nd Punjabis
83rd Wallajahbad Light Infantry
84th Punjabis
85th Burman Rifles
86th Carnatic Infantry
87th Punjabis
88th Carnatic Infantry
89th Punjabis
90th Punjabis
91st Punjabis (Light Infantry)
92nd Punjabis
93rd Burma Infantry
94th Russell's Infantry
95th Russell's Infantry
96th Berar Infantry
97th Deccan Infantry
98th Infantry
99th Deccan Infantry
101st Grenadiers
102nd King Edward's Own Grenadiers
103rd Mahratta Light Infantry
104th Wellesley's Rifles
105th Mahratta Light Infantry
107th Pioneers
108th Infantry
109th Infantry
110th Mahratta Light Infantry
111th Mahars
112th Infantry
113th Infantry
114th Mahrattas
116th Maharattas
117th Mahrattas
119th Infantry (The Mooltan Regiment)
120th Rajputana Infantry
121st Pioneers
122nd Rajputana Infantry
123rd Outram's Rifles
124th Duchess of Connaught's Own Baluchistan Infantry
125th Napier's Rifles
126th Baluchistan Infantry
127th Queen Mary's Own Baluch Light Infantry
128th Pioneers
129th Duke of Connaught's Own Baluchis
130th King George's Own Baluchis (Jacob's Rifles)
131st United Provinces Regiment
132nd Punjab Infantry
133rd Regiment
140th Patiala Regiment
141st Bikanir Infantry
142nd Jodhpur Infantry
143rd Narsingh (Dholpur) Infantry
144th Bharatpur Infantry
145th Alwar (Jai Paltan) Infantry
150th Indian Infantry
151st Sikh Infantry
152nd Punjabis
153rd Punjabis
154th Indian Infantry
155th Indian Pioneers
156th Indian Infantry
Gurkha Rifles
1st King George's Own Gurkha Rifles (The Malaun Regiment)
2nd King Edward's Own Gurkha Rifles (The Sirmoor Rifles)
3rd Queen Alexandra's Own Gurkha Rifles
4th Prince of Wales's Own Gurkha Rifles
5th Royal Gurkha Rifles (Frontier Force)
6th Gurkha Rifles
7th Gurkha Rifles
8th Gurkha Rifles
9th Gurkha Rifles
10th Gurkha Rifles
11th Gurkha Rifles
Machine Gun Corps
Mountain Artillery
1st King George's Own Sappers and Miners
2nd Queen Victoria's Own Sappers and Miners
3rd Sappers and Miners
Supply and Transport Corps
Army Hospital Corps
Army Bearer Corps
Indian Medical Department
Army Remount Department
Army Veterinary Department
Indian Ordnance Department
Army Clothing Department
Military Farms

Add comment

Security code

Back to top